lady on a bridge

Fault

You say I am sixty percent at fault.

That my temperament pushed you away.

That because of me you fell out of love.

That choosing school over you was not smart.

That you sleep better at night since we went our separate ways.

That you are much happier now that you are single.

You have made it pretty clear;

It is my fault.

My fault for allowing you to disrespect me;

My fault for loving you too much that I allowed you to manipulate me;

My fault for losing myself in the process of pleasing you;

My fault for putting my needs and wants on hold to fulfill yours;

My fault for finally demanding some respect;

My fault for finally having the  courage to stand up for me;

My fault for finally pursuing my dreams;

My fault for being my own source of support when I needed it;

My fault because I learned how to love myself again.

Leave a comment